Newsletter subscribe


Squad Review & Analysis:

The second addition of PSL is just around the corner and already the fever has struck the fans.  The players draft for PSL 2017 edition was held on October 19, 2016. There were lot of speculations and thoughts about the shuffling of the rosters and new faces coming in. All five franchises were given equal opportunities to select the players from different categories including Platinum and Gold categories.

The squads for Karachi kings and Lahore Qalandars have been shuffled a lot. Different names and faces are added whereas the Squads for Quetta Gladiators and Islamabad United were shuffled to the least extent.

Islamabad united is being led by Misbah Ul Haq, The Old warrior, the backbone of Pakistan cricket team and the man who took Pakistan team to the top position in test cricket. United are the reigning champions and the winners of the inaugural Pakistan Super League tournament. Islamabad United won the tournament because of the high-profile leadership and coaching staff including Dean Jones as the coach and Wasim Akram as the team Director. They defeated Quetta Gladiators in the final match to win the first ever PSL title. Now the season two is about to begin and there are lots of shuffling going around. Islamabad united didn’t look strong on paper in 2016, but it proved that cricket is a game of mind and skills rather than Big names and stars.

Even this time around Islamabad united have choose not to shuffle their squad. Three players have been selected this year including Ben Duckett from England, Shadab Khan and Zohaib Khan among the local players.

Five players have been left out of the squad for PSL 2017 including Kamran Ghulam, Ashar Zaidi, Umar Siddiq, Umar Amin and Babar Azam. Babar Azam however have been selected by Karachi Kings considering his red-hot form against West Indies and England this season.

Most of the players from previous years have been retained by Islamabad United including Shane Watson (The hard-hitting all-rounder from Australia), Andre Russell, Samuel Badree and Dwayne Smith from West Indies. Dwayne Smith and Andre Russell played significant roles in Islamabad’s victory last year. Sam Billings from England has also been retained. Brad Haddin from Australia has been retained and promoted as assistant coach to Dean Jones. The local lads include the pacers Muhammad Irfan and Muhammad Sami. The aggressive openers Khalid Latif and Sharjeel Khan. The Magician Saeed Ajmal and young talents like Rumman Raees, Imran Khalid, Amad Butt, Hussain Talat and Asif Ali. Along with them the Captain himself, Misbah ul Haq. Misbah ul Haq along with Sarfaraz Ahmad are the only two captains from Pakistan whereas Karachi Kings are being led by Sangakkara, Lahore by McCullum and Peshawar by Darren Sammy.

Islamabad team looks sound and balanced with specialists in each department. With the crown already placed on their head they would look more confident and tough this time around. The second edition of PSL is surely creating a charm and excitement and will lead to even bigger glory than the 1st edition. The cherry on top being the news that Qadaffi Stadium, Lahore will host the final of Pakistan Super League, 2017.

Complete list of the Islamabad United Squad given below:-


Islamabad United Complete 16-Member Squad

  • Misbah ul Haq (c)
  • Mohammad Sami
  • Khalid Latif
  • Shane Watson
  • Andre Russell
  • Sharjeel Khan
  • Mohammad Irfan
  • Samuel Badree
  • Brad Haddin
  • Sam Billings
  • Rumman Raees
  • Imran Khalid
  • Amad Butt
  • Saeed Ajmal
  • Asif Ali
  • Hussain Talat

Supplementary Players List

  • Zohaib Khan
  • Shadab Khan
  • Dwayne Smith
  • Ben Ducket

Management and Coaching Staff

  • Owner: Leonine Global Sports
  • Head Coach: Dean Jones (Australia)
  • Director & Bowling Coach: Wasim Akram
  • Assistant Coach: Tauseef Ahmed & Brad Haddin

Fielding Coach: Darren Berry (Australia)