Newsletter subscribe

Karachi Kings – Inclusion of Sangakarra & Gayle


Karachi Kings, the most hyped and expensive team of PSL 2016 failed to deliver according to their strengths and name. Owned by Salman Iqbal from Ary Group, the team had all the elements to be successful but failed to deliver and lost some close matches. Karachi kings was captained by Shoaib Malik. Shoaib Malik is the most successful captain in the domestic circuit of Pakistan cricket, he has led Sialkot Stallions for a record no. of Domestic titles.

Karachi begin their tournament with a win over Lahore but failed to capitalize any momentum. They advanced to the next round but overall the performance of the team was miserable. There was some controversy between Shoaib Malik and Ravi Bopara as well when Malik handed over the captaincy to Bopara over his remarks over the team selection and captaincy divisions.

The bowling attack of Karachi was headed by Sohail Tanvir and the comeback kid Muhammad Amir. Though the individual performances were quite impressive by Malik, Bopara and Amir. Still they couldn’t manage to win many matches.

This year Salman Iqbal himself took the initiative and supervised the selections and drafts for the team. There were many changes in the squad and some big names were included. The most talked about drafts were Kumar Sangakkara and Chris Gayle in the squad. The two legends from Sri Lanka and West Indies will surely provide the fire power to the squad. Chris Gayle was drafted from Lahore Qalandars, where he couldn’t deliver a quality performance. Kumar Sangakkara has been brought in as captain and mentor of the squad.

Other inclusions include Mahela Jayawardene (Sri Lanka), Kieron Pollard from West Indies, Ryan Mclaren from South Africa. Local players who have been brought in include Kashif Bhatti, Abrar Ahmed, Khurram Manzoor, Abdul Ameer, Rahat Ali, Amad Alam and the inform Babar Azam.

Shoaib Malik left the captaincy in last season and will continue as the prime batsman. Muhammad Amir, Ravi Bopara, Imad Wasim, Sohail Khan, Shahzaib Hassan, Saifullah Bangash and Usama Mir have retained their places in the Karachi Kings squad.

Bilawal Bhatti, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mir Hamza, Mushfiqur Rahim, Nauman Anwar, Shakib Al Hasan Lendl Simmons, Sohail Tanvir, James Vince, Dilshan and Fawad Alam have been left released from the squad for PSL 2017.

PSL 2017 is all set to make a bigger impact this year. The PSL 2016 edition was a huge success given the conditions and the time of preparations. PSL 2017 promise more excitement, more intensity and increased impacts all around the world. The tournament will be held between February and March 2017 at UAE. The Final of PSL will be played in Lahore which will be a packed house without any doubt. Karachi kings with a new and improved squad will look to get rid of the 2016 ghost and appear as a new unit. On paper, Karachi surely looks strong contender of the PSL 2017 Title.

Karachi Kings 20-Member Squad

  1. Kumar Sangakkara( C )
  2. Chris Gayle
  3. Shoaib Malik
  4. Kieron Pollard
  5. Mohammad Amir
  6. Ravi Bopara
  7. Imad Wasim
  8. Babar Azam
  9. Ryan McLaren
  10. Sohail Khan
  11. Shahzaib Hasan
  12. Saifullah Bangash
  13. Khurram Manzoor
  14. Kashif Bhatti
  15. Abrar Ahmed
  16. Abdul Hameed
  17. Mahela Jayawardene (Supplementary Player)
  18. Rahat Ali (Supplementary Player)
  19. Usama Mir (Supplementary Player)
  20. Amad Alam (Supplementary Player)

Coaching Staff and Management

Owner: Salman Iqbal (ARY Group)
Pakistan CEO: Tariq Wasi
Head Coach: Mickey Arthur (South Africa)
Assistant Coach: Azhar Mehmood
Director: Rashid Latif
Fielding Coach: Abdul Majeed
Physio: Asad Ali
Analyst: Muhammad Asim