Newsletter subscribe

Peshawar Zalmi Team Squad 2017 Analysis and Review:


Peshawar Zalmi were considered as one of the hot favorites in 2016 PSL championship. They were eliminated by a last ball encounter against the finalists Quetta Gladiators. The star studded team consisting of the captain “Boom Boom Shahid Afridi, Wahab Riaz, Darren Sammy, Shaun Tait, Tamim Iqbal and Kamran Akmal. The team was considered as the favorite to win the title with such star studded pack. But unfortunately couldn’t make it to the final. They remained at the 2nd position in the group.

Performances were delivered by different players in different games and the team proved to be the fans favorite and the most entertaining team of the tournament. Lead by the dynamic Shahid khan Afridi they delivered a performance worth remembering. The fight between Zalmi’s Wahab Riaz and Gladiators Ahmad Shahzad was one of the highlights of the tournament. Peshawar Zalmi was no doubt an action packed squad last year.

This year, when there have been a number of changes for the PSL draft. Peshawar Zalmi also made some major changes. The two of them were announced on stage during the live PSL Draft Ceremony by Shahid Afridi. The first announcement was that Younis Khan has been made the Batting Mentor of Peshawar Zalmi. Younis was not picked up by any franchise in last year’s PSL edition but this time he was given the respect he deserved by Shahid Khan Afridi and Javed Afridi , the Owner of the team. It was in fact a great gesture, acknowledging the services of the legendary Pakistan batsman Younis Khan.

The second announcement was a shocker for many but won many hearts at the same time. It was Shahid Khan Afridi withdrawing from the captaincy of Peshawar Zalmi, It was a huge surprise for “Lala” fans but the reason of the withdrawal was not any problem. It was again a great sign of sportsmanship and respect. Shahid Khan Afridi handed over the captaincy to Darren Sammy. Darren Sammy is the only captain who has won 2 T20 World cups. He also led West Indies team to 2016’s T20 World cup. But due to management and financial crisis in WICB Board, Sammy was removed as the captain. He was quite dishearten with the decision. But Peshawar Zalmi honored him as the captain of their squad which was indeed a great sign. Sammy than thank Afridi for the gesture and said that “Lala will be the captain always”.

The major changes in squad were the inclusion of England’s T20 and ODI captain, Eoin Morgan. Alex Hales, another English blistering opener was picked up by Peshawar Zalmi in the draft. Muhammad Shahzad (Afghanistan) keeper and aggressive opener was also picked. Bangladeshi star-all-rounder Shakib ul Hasan was picked among the overseas player for this edition of PSL. Shakib was released from the Karachi Squad this year.

Other local inclusions included Haris Sohail, Irfan Khan, Khushdil Shah, Iftikhar Ahmed, and Sohaib Maqsood.

The players who were released from the 2016 squad included Aamer Yamin, Abdur Rehman, Jim Allenby, Jonny Bairstow, David Malan, Brad Hodge, Shaun Tait and Taj wali.


PSL 2017 is around the corner and teams have been picked and finalized. Lot of momentum has been built up heading towards the tournaments. The final of PSL 2017 will be held at Qaddafi stadium Lahore and will prove a turning point for Pakistan Cricket.

Peshawar Zalmi 20-Member Squad:

  1. Darren Sammy ( C )
  2. Shahid Afridi
  3. Eoin Morgan
  4. Alex Hales (Supplementary Player)
  5. Haris Sohail
  6. Wahab Riaz
  7. Sohaib Maqsood
  8. Mohammad Asghar
  9. Chris Jordan
  10. Tamim Iqbal
  11. Muhammad Hafeez
  12. Kamran Akmal
  13. Shakib ul Hasan
  14. Muhammad Shahzad (Supplementary Player)
  15. Junaid Khan
  16. Imran Khan
  17. Hasan Ali
  18. Irfan Khan (Supplementary Player)
  19. Khushdil Shah (Supplementary Player)
  20. Iftikhar Ahmad


Management and Management and Coaching Staff

Owner:  Javed Afridi (Haier Pakistan)

CEO:  Zeeshan Afzal

Manager: Abdul Rehman

President Peshawar Zalmi: Shahid Afridi

Head Coach/Team Director: Mohammad Akram

Batting Coach/Mentor: Younis Khan

Fielding Coach: Grant Luden (South Africa)

Physio: Bradley Ian Robinson (Zimbabwe)